Save $15 on Literary Legend Banquet Tickets--Enter BANQUET in Promo Code Save $15 on Literary Legend Banquet Tickets--Enter BANQUET in Promo Code  

Outdoor Vendors

Saturday, Sept 27

Flagler College's West Lawn will feature outdoor vendors with food, crafts, and art.

Lion's Club Free Eye Exams

Saturday, Sept. 27    Crisp-Ellert Museum

Literary Legend Banquet with Robin Cook

John D. MacDonald Archives Exhibit

John D. MacDonald Exhibit of archive material from the UF Smathers Libraries
Flagler College Proctor Library

44 Sevilla St.
St Augustine, FL

Sept 23-26:      3 pm – 8 pm
Saturday, Sept 27:          
10 am – 5 pm
Sunday, Sept 28:               2 pm – 6 pm

Bookmobile Children's Activities

Saturday, Sept 27

St. Johns County Library Children’s Bookmobile next to Proctor Library with children’s activities

VeloFest Bike Parking

Thurs-Sat, Sept 25-27

on Valencia Street in front of the Crisp-Ellert Museum.

Writing Conference Critique Sessions

Thursday, Sept. 25

Improve your craft with face-to-face guidance by writing professionals, Elizabeth Sims, Laura Lee Smith, and Arliss Ryan.

Writers Workshops

Friday, Sept. 26

A full day of one-hour writers workshops covering both the craft and business of writing. Take your writing to the next level with practical advice, solid instruction and a chance to network with your fellow writers. Registration includes the keynote luncheon with New York Times bestselling author Lisa Black.

Parking Shuttles

Saturday, Sept 27

Old Town Trolley will offer free trolley rides from the parking garage to Ringhaver Student Center.  It will run from 8:30 to 5:30.  The trolley will be identified with a banner.

Civil Rights Presentation

Saturday, Sept 27

The Florida Heritage Book Festival will honor the 50th anniversary of the passage of the Civil Rights Act with a special panel on north Florida’s place in that history. The panel will feature Dr. R.B. Hayling, Rodney L. Hurst, Sr., Dr. David Colburn, and Charles E. Cobb, Jr.

Festival Marketplace

Saturday, Sept 27

The Festival Marketplace offers opportunities for published authors and other vendors to interact with readers and buyers throughout Saturday’s Book Festival. Hourly drawings and signings by the Featured Authors!

Visit these vendors and Non-Profits!

The Bookmark

Mark Adams, Mark Wayne Adams, Inc.

Andrea Barringer, Barringer Books

Shannon Bell

Christina Benjamin, The Geneva Project

Nancy Blanton, Nancy Blanton Communications

Susan Calfee, Wordwhittler Books

R.D. Campbell

Marilyn Collins, Tangles Books and More

Aileen Cook

Beth Copeland

Lucille R. D'Armi-Riggio, My Matchless Mother, Enterprises

Maggie De Vries

Stephanie Erickson, Erickson Enterprises

Lucia Fishburne

Florida Book Awards

J.C. Gatlin

John Gillgren

Heather Hamel

Nicole Hammer

Union of Concerned Scientists

Diane Harper, HayMarBooks, LLC

DL Havlin

Rob Hicks, Island Media Publishing, LLC

Neil Howard

Antony Vitale

James Huber Books

Timothy Jacobs, Jacobs Writing Consultants, LLC

Louise Jaques, Novel Words, LLC

Howard Johnson, Senesis Word Publishing

William A. Keefe

D. B. Landy

Jean Lane, JLB Creatives Publishing

E. T. Malone, Jr., Literary Lantern Press

Connie Miller Soul Safe LLC

Ian Murray

Nancy H. Murray

Dianna Narciso, Wayward Cat Publishing

Sandra Parks, Anastasia Books

Rosamond Parrish

R. H. Rauschenberger,  author of Tide

Clinton W. Smith

J. Perry Smith, Padre Nuestro Books

Tami Lynne

Penny Wagner, author of Karl the Grateful Dog

The Florida Heritage Book Festival to Honor Novelist Dr. Robin Cook as Florida Literary Legend

Robin Cook


This year, our honoree is the author of over thirty books, twenty-eight of which were New York Times bestsellers, two became films, six TV movies, and two television series. Selling nearly 10 million copies, he created the medical thriller genre, starting with the novel Coma. Of course, we are referring to Robin Cook. Dr. Cook graduated from Columbia University Medical School and finished his postgraduate medical training at Harvard. Currently he lives and works in Florida. His most recent novel, Cell, deals with medical ethics and the intersection of business and medicine. His main character, George Wilson, M.D., a radiology resident in Los Angeles, wakes one morning to find his fiancée dead. What he finds in his search for her killer is that medicine is on the brink of an enormous paradigm shift, foreshadowing a vastly different role for doctors everywhere.

Previous literary legend honorees include Stetson Kennedy, Jack Hunter, Carl Hiaasen, Randy Wayne White, Edna Buchanan, John Jakes

Click Here for More Information about Robin Cook

 Register for The Florida Heritage Book Festival Today!

Save $15--Enter BANQUET as a Promo Code

The Florida Heritage Book Festival to Posthumously Honor John D. MacDonald

From time to time, we’ve recognized a Florida author who is no longer with us, but who had a major impact on the literary world. We did this in 2012, honoring Ernest Hemingway with a posthumous Literary Legend Award, which was accepted by his niece. This year, we are excited to announce that in addition to recognizing Literary Legend Robin Cook, a posthumous award will be presented to one of the masters of the modern crime novel. He’s a man who could raise the reader’s pulse with his taut, moral tales of good and evil found in his popular Travis McGee series, but he was also one of the first writers of fiction to champion Florida’s environmental challenges. Of course, we're referring to John D. MacDonald, one of the great storytellers of our age.

To help celebrate the life and work of this American master, we’ve arranged for a special exhibit from the University of Florida’s John D. MacDonald Collection to be on display here at the Flagler College Library from the week prior to the Festival. 

Click Here for More Information About John D. MacDonald

 Register for the Florida Heritage Book Festival Today!

What We Support

Newspaper Media in Education

Friends of the Library

Our Sponsors

St. Augustine Record

Flagler College

Our Official Bookseller

The BookMark

Save the dates! September 25, 26, 27, 2014

Print Print | Sitemap
© 2014 The Florida Heritage Book Festival and Writers Conference